Bunny Heaven

Lu

Lu

Sometimes, I forget that my snugly, block headed baby is a dog driven by her heritage.  Today was one of those days I was reminded.

I leaned over to check the planter I was watering.  I usually watered until the soil was drenched and water seeped from the bottom of the pot.  I don’t have a green thumb, but I enjoy creating my planters, and purchasing the numerous flowers and plants I need for the brief three months of growing season.  It is one of the only artistic moments I enjoy.

Lulu was out roaming our fenced  in half acre yard, and from the corner of my eye I caught a white flash speed across the grass and into the tree line.  I did not look up.  It takes little to no movement to activate her prey drive.  A light breeze amidst the leaves is enough to send her racing, with head and nose held high.

I continued to admire my brief flash of artistry, pausing as I felt her presence behind me.  I looked about five feet to my left, and gasped at the small animal lying in the grass below her broad smiling face.  Lying limply in the grass was a small adolescent rabbit.

I stepped towards Lu as she slowly backed away panting.  She was clearly offering me her kill, and it took everything I had not to scream NO at her.  I looked up at that wide, happy grin.  She was so pleased with herself.  She had killed and provided.  Hundreds of years of instinct had led her to this moment, and I could see the pure joy in her twinkling eyes.

I knelt slowly and touched the still warm little body.  There wasn’t a mark on the rabbit, but I had watched her dispatch other small animals with a quick shake of her powerful neck.  At least it had probably not suffered.

I love Lulu.  She is one of the most affectionate dogs I’ve ever owned.  She is also one of the most powerful, reactive dogs I’ve owned.  Sometimes I forget she is driven by pure instinct – direct descendant of a long line of hunters.  In the blink of an eye, that warm brown gaze is brushed aside by the ancestral forces that drive her, and I once again see the animal that dominates her actions.

5 thoughts on “Bunny Heaven

  1. Beautifully written. A poignant tale of the pull of nature. I love Lulu too, but it is hard to come to terms with the death sentence which she and other animals, including my cats, carry out. Nature is red in tooth and claw and I suppose we should not forget that.
    Lovely to hear from you.
    Karen.

    • Thank you Karen. In long distance hiking circles, I will often hear hikers use the phrase “Embrace the Brutality” when discussing the more rugged, wild hikes. This sometimes reminds me of Lu.

    • Hi! Thank you – I’ve missed being around. Started a new venture that has kicked my fanny. Things are settling down now though, and I hope to be around a little more. Looks like you are doing good, and the writing is going well!

Leave a Reply

